No “I” in Team

Today, New York is filled with excitement as the Knicks finally win their first play-off game.

At least the parts of New York where there are any fans left.

They came away with a win because they worked hard together as a team.

Before today, all I saw in the papers was how Carmelo’s game couldn’t beat the Heat.

Apparently the last game he played, he had 32 points but 8 turnovers.

32 points!?

That’s not bad!

The last time I checked, there were 5 players from each team on the court.

So, why is Carmelo catching all the heat?

There is no “I” in team.

It brings me back to my basketball days in middle school.

Our point guard was the best on the team.

She scored most of the points.

She handled the ball well.

She had many steals.

She also had many assists, and with those assists came more points.

That’s if the rest of our team converted those points.

Everyone on the squad was really good at something and putting all that together took us to the championship.

Being on a team taught me many things.

It taught me self-discipline, management, determination, and it gave me self-confidence.

Most of all, it taught me that teamwork is important on and off the court.

In life, everyone has a purpose.

If everyone fulfills their purpose, it keeps the world functioning.

As a teacher, I often point out people’s strengths and weaknesses.

I take my students’ strengths and build on them to help them grow, and I use it to develop their weaknesses.

I’m very passionate about my job because I want to make a difference in these children’s lives.

I have 25 of them, and it’s quite difficult to help them all because they can be so different.

This is where teamwork comes in.

Sadly, there’s none in my classroom.

No matter how hard I try, I can’t do it all by myself.

It wears me down too much.

So,

I can totally relate to how Carmelo may have been feeling the first 3 games.

Since I don’t have the support in the classroom, at least I have the support of family, friends, and my boyfriend.

They are true team players that won’t let me down.

They may not necessarily do things for me, but they are there for me to talk to and get through tough times.

At the end of the day, the children should win, not the teachers to see who is the best.

“Focusing your life solely on making a buck shows a certain poverty of ambition. It asks too little of yourself. Because it’s only when you hitch your wagon to something larger than yourself that you realize your true potential.”
~Barack Obama
Do you think you have reached your true potential?
‘Til next week world,
Miss You
Leave a Reply

