Reflections

Many people think that a teacher’s life is simple.

We get out at 2:30 in the afternoon.

We have 2 months off from school for summer vacation

on top of other vacations during the school year.

We get to do fun things with the kids.

If only people knew,

it is much more complicated than that.

I do get out of work at 2:30,

but I go home and plan for the next day,

or prepare things to do with the kids,

like cutting shapes out of construction paper for their arts and crafts project.

Plus,

I’m in a room full of 5 and 6 year-olds

for 6 hours.

I’m switching from angry, to happy, to frustrated within the 6 hours

because

of the different personalities

in the class.

It is quite emotionally draining.

When I’m out,

I’m buying items for the kids

or my classroom

most of the time.

During the summer,

you’re still buying items for your classroom

because you don’t want to spend too much money in one shot.

As teachers,

we are constantly

thinking

about others,

about the kids.

It is hard to keep up with

changes

and trends

in society.

Watching Spongebob

or anything else on Nickelodeon

is my research and development.

Wednesday,

was the last day of school.

At the end of every year,

I always think about

how the year went

and what I can do better

and new for the

next school year.

I always want to do at least one new thing

every year.

This year it was bear hug time,

which the kids loved.

However,

my reflections

for the end of the school year

aren’t like my usual.

My reflections

are more focused

on me.

This year was a rough one,

so rough that it made me second guess my decision of becoming a

teacher.

My class was amazing,

and that’s what fueled me to get through,

reminding me of

why

I became a teacher in the first place.

I enjoy showing these kids

the world

and instilling

a hope

in them

that they can do

anything

they put their mind to.

When you were little,

what did you want to be when you grew up?

Did you pretend to be it every day?

What were your expectations of your life?

It’s funny that when you

thought

about it

and pictured it,

there were no problems

attached to it.

Now that you’re living it,

is it how you imagined it to be?

Is it still what you want now that you have it?

Is this how I want my life

to be

for the rest of my

life?

These are some questions I’ve been asking myself

the past few days.

It’s scary to think of myself as an adult

and see everything that I’ve accomplished.

When I look back,

everything

before the age of 25

feels like a blur.

When I was little,

being a teacher and having someone

to love

was something I always wanted,

but I only understood it as an idea.

Deep inside I didn’t think it would really happen.

Now, it’s like it came so fast,

and I’m afraid the rest of my years

will go

just as quick.

That gives me more of a reason

to enjoy my life

and take

everything as it is.

You don’t have

time to

be mad at the world

and dwell on probems

that life throws at you.

There’s an

answer

to

everything,

so

tackle your

problems.

I’m lucky to have a job that I always wanted

and

that I

enjoy doing.

For that,

I am grateful.

“Life isn’t about finding yourself.

Life is about creating yourself.”

– George Bernard Shaw

‘Til next week world,

Miss You

Leave a Reply

